Travis’s Letters

Do not lose hope —what you seek will be found.”
― Neil Gaiman

Letter One

“April, you were on your way to Bridal Veil – that’s where I’ll be. I don’t want to think that you wouldn’t come back for your own brother, so find this. Find me. I’ll see you at the waterfalls. Love, T.” 

Letter Two

“April, I hope you find this. There’s only four of us now, including Janet. Sophie’s gone. I don’t know what to do. People are saying that in the East the damage isn’t so bad. You’re always talking about moving to North Carolina. I guess it’s our chance. I’m following your obnoxious list. We’re making our way to Latourell Falls first. I hope you know that the order makes no geographical sense. This is why I always told you to stay in school. You better hope you can catch up to me. I’m praying you catch up, and you know I don’t pray.”

Letter Three

“April, Janet’s dead. Now it’s just me and Whitney Blake. Do you remember her? She’s had a fucked up life, but who hasn’t? She’s keeps telling me to not give up on you, but I don’t know how much longer I can wait. Janet was the only mom I had. Besides you. ”

Letter Four

“April, I keep thinking that it was just an earthquake, but this guy, George, says it’s God. He’s old and alone, but good with directions. I think he even makes Whitney feel safer. But God? I never believed- you know that- but even if I did, how could I believe in something this horrifying? This isn’t God. It can’t be.”

Letter Five

“April, this is the fourth one we’ve hit, and there’s still no sign of you. I don’t know if I should wait for you or keep going. All I think about is who we’ve lost and what we never had. What if you’re dead too? I just don’t have it in me anymore. I think if I keep going, I might kill myself. Maybe that was God’s intention.”

Letter Six

“April, my last few notes to you were fucked- I’m sorry. We’ll find each other again. Hang in there, Sissy. I know I am.”

*Photo Credit* (Latourell Falls, OR)

Leave a Reply

