Wake Up – Part One

Continuation of “What Do You Love About Me? – Parts One & Two

 

Emma had been lying awake for hours now, replaying what happened last night over and over again. After she left, she went home, shaking and scared, waiting for Dylan to call. It was only a few hours before she gave in and started trying his cell phone. He never picked up. It wasn’t until four in the morning that she heard a knock on her window.

She practically flew to it and yanked him inside, “Finally! Are you okay? What happened?”

“I’m fine. Everything’s fine,” he told her and immediately pulling her against him. “I’m so sorry, Emma, for everything.”

“This isn’t your fault,” she hugged him back. “What happened when I left?”

“My mom kicked me out.”

Again? Are you fucking kidding me? What about Jeff?”

Emma was so angry she started shaking all over again. After trying to press him for details, he brushed it off. He apparently didn’t want to talk about it and would explain later.

They spent the next day listening to music and sleeping; occasionally icing his bruised knuckles, but other than that it was like radio silence. She debated easing into it, but she didn’t want to wait anymore. There was an entire part of him that she couldn’t understand.

“Hey,” Emma whispered and tried to nudge him awake. He was snoring lightly and his body was warm next to hers. “Wake up.”

He jerked awake, looking around alarmed. “What’s wrong?” he asked turning towards her, alert but still groggy.

“What happened with Jeff?” she spit out without hesitation.

“Emma…” he sighed, running a hand over his face. She started to get nervous, not wanting to start a fight.

“Did you really expect me to let it go?” she asked trying to keep the snide in her voice to a minimum. “First, you ask me not to ask about your dad, and I’ve respected that. But now there’s stuff about Jeff I suddenly don’t know?”

“Have you ever thought that maybe I’m trying to protect you?”

“Are you sure it’s me you’re protecting?”.

“What’s that supposed to mean?” Dylan snapped, glaring at her.

“I think you’re scared what I might think, but how can I help if I don’t even know you?” she asked reaching up to touch his cheek. “I want all of you, not just what you choose to show me.”

“And what if I don’t tell you?” He pulled away from her touch and sat up against the head board. She tried to keep calm and not let his tone dig under her skin.

Emma weighed her next words carefully, “Then I don’t see us lasting.”

She wasn’t expecting those words to hurt as much as they did. She wanted nothing more than to shrug it off, but she couldn’t let herself do it.

“So what is this an ultimatum?”

“Don’t be dramatic,” she snapped unable to stop herself. “Is this really too much to ask? I would never keep something like that from you.”

“Yeah cause your biggest life problem is which movie to watch! You have your perfect little life. You don’t get it.”

“Don’t lie to me,” she retorted, sitting up and turning on the lamp on her nightstand. “And don’t be mean.You haven’t even told me what happened after I left last night! You get kicked out again and you stay here with me. I’m letting you in. Can’t you do the same for me?”

He looked down at her, his eyes blue and mad. He mumbled through a clenched jaw, “I’m sorry.” She wasn’t sure she wanted to know exactly what he was apologizing for. 

“No matter what you say, I’m still gonna love you. Pleasejust talk to me,” she reassured him, scooting closer and wrapping her fingers through his. She couldn’t help but focus in on his bruises that had to be from more than the one hit she’d witnessed. He still held on tightly.

His voice was suddenly eerie and far away, “What about the things I’ve done?”

*Photo Credit*

Leave a Reply

